Drivers

Finally getting your own driver’s license is, for many teens, a common rite of passage. We have all been there and we all know how scary and intimidating the process of getting a new license can be.

If you are apprehensive right now, one of the best ways to become more confident is to learn about the process of getting a license and know what laws are set in place for new drivers. It also helps that if ever you become involved in a vehicular accident, you will be backed by legal experts such as the Pardy & Rodriguez Tampa personal injury attorneys. You know you have legal professionals you can rely on when you need them most.

New License and the Laws for New Drivers in Florida

The process of getting your driver’s license will depend on factors such as your age and whether or not you have acquired a driver’s license before.

Learner’s Permit

If you are under 18 years old, what you need to apply for is a learner’s permit. To qualify, you will have to pass several tests, such as:

  • Vision and Hearing Tests (conducted at the DMV)
  • Traffic Law Course
  • Substance Abuse Education
  • Road rules Test
  • Road Signs Test

To apply for a learner’s permit, you will be required to submit documents, such as:

  • Proof of passing the DATA course
  • Proof of Identity
  • Parental Consent Form

Once you have obtained your learner’s permit, remember that there are still laws that you must abide by. A license is merely proof that you are qualified to drive but not an excuse to drive your vehicle as you please.

Rules to Follow When Driving Using a Learner’s Permit

To ensure that you avoid any issues as a driver with a learner’s permit, keep in mind the following rules:

  • Always operate a vehicle with a front passenger who is at least 21 years old and has a driving license.
  • For the first three months after receipt of your learner’s permit, you are allowed to drive only during daylight hours.
  • Starting on the fourth month, you can begin driving between 6:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m., provided you are accompanied by a licensed driver on the front passenger’s seat.

Intermediate License

Florida requires individuals to reach the minimum age of 16 years and to have obtained their learner’s permit at least 12 months prior, and have no traffic convictions before they get qualified for their intermediate license. If, during the first 12 months as a driver with a learner’s permit, you happened to receive a traffic violation ticket, you could avoid a conviction by enrolling in a short course in traffic school.

If you live in Tampa and would like to qualify for an intermediate driving license, you are required to have the following:

  • Florida Learner’s Permit
  • Confirmation from a guardian stating that you have operated a vehicle for at least 50 hours, 10 hours of which were used to drive at night
  • Pass the DMV driving test

Requirements for the Road Test

If it is time to take the driving skills test on the road, you are required to bring a vehicle to the DMV office. To qualify, the vehicle you use must be insured and you need to bring proof of an active insurance. Remember that the DMV will not provide a vehicle for the test.

After successfully qualifying for your intermediate license, remember that there are still certain restrictions you need to comply with based on your age.

Driving with Your Intermediate License

With an intermediate driving license, you can:

  • drive any time, provided you are accompanied by a licensed driver in the front passenger seat; he/she must be at least 21 years old
  • drive unsupervised if you are 16 years old, as long as you do so between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m.
  • drive unsupervised if you are 17 years old, as long as you do so between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m.

When you reach 18 years old, restrictions carried by your provisional license will be removed and you will have the full privileges of “adult” driver’s licenses.

Getting an Appointment for Your Driver’s License in Florida

Try to get an appointment for your driver’s license at your local DHSMV office. You can get in touch with them through a phone call. State the kind of license you are applying for clearly so that the office will know whether or not you need a driving test. At a time when there are restrictions due to lockdowns and quarantine, consider the time you might have to spend during the application process. For example, the office might require that you wear face coverings or it might not allow parents in the building. Ask about any restrictions being imposed prior to your appointment to avoid inconvenience.

Getting Your Florida Driver’s License

Once you have passed all the qualifying tests and submitted the required documents, you will receive your Florida driver’s license. Keep in mind that there are restrictions in place based on your license type and your age.

Staying Safe While Driving

Florida is one of the best places to live in the U.S. However, it also has some of the country’s most dangerous roads. In case of a vehicular accident, do not hesitate to get in touch with a personal injury lawyer in Tampa, Florida for your protection. Our Pardy & Rodriguez, P.A. legal team will offer you assistance and ensure that your rights are protected. Call us today at (407) 890-8929 for your initial consultation free of cost.